No Entry Sign Outdoors

How to Hide Your Following List on TikTok

  • calendar Last Updated
Author
Chris
Chris
Category
#TikTok

It goes without saying that there's a lot of people in the TikTok app: whether you know them personally or you've just met them on the site. Having a social media presence means you're giving part of your privacy in exchange for having the ability to create, share, and watch content. But are there things you can do to keep your stuff as private as possible?

With TikTok, there are steps you can do to maintain your privacy as much as possible. One thing you might be interested in knowing is how to hide your following list on TikTok. By default, everyone can see your details including the accounts you’ve followed, and can send you direct messages as well. 

However, having an account that is very much public can attract spammers, stalkers, and the like.

Why Should You Hide Your Following List on TikTok?

Normally, there’s no big, alarming reason to hide your following list. Besides improving your privacy, you may not want other people to know what accounts you are following. Maybe you just don’t want to show them your following list, that’s all.

No Entry Sign

How to Keep Your TikTok Following List Private

You can easily hide your following list on TikTok. There are two ways to do this.

First, you can always make your TikTok profile private. When you create an account on TikTok, your profile will be automatically public: meaning, everyone with an account can see your videos, view your profile page, see your followers, know who you’re following, and perhaps even send you a direct message if you are friends with them.

But with your TikTok account being set to private, your account will be accessible only to a limited number of people. These are the people whom you’ve approved to be your followers. Your content will be hidden from public view, and only your followers will have access to it.

Also, this will automatically hide your following list on TikTok as well as hide followers you have.

To make your account private, follow these steps:

  1. Step 1

    Open the TikTok app.

  2. Step 2

    Three Horizontal Lines Icon

    Go to “Profile”, which is located at the far right bottom of the screen. Then tap the three horizontal line icon on the top right corner of the app.

  3. Step 3

    Privacy option

    This will take you to Settings and Privacy. Under “Account”, tap “Privacy”.

  4. Step 4

    Set to private account

    You will see the option “Private account”. Drag the button beside it to the right until it turns green. Your account is now private!

But if you don’t want to make your account wholly private, you can still hide your following list on TikTok. Having a private account can have its disadvantages, such as this will limit the circle of your reach. If you’re a content creator or an influencer, you probably don’t want to do that.

There’s another easy way to hide your following list without resorting to having a private account. You can specifically just hide your following list. By doing so, other users won’t be able to see who you are following anymore.

Do the following steps:

  1. Step 1

    Open the TikTok app.

  2. Step 2

    Menu button

    Head over to the “Profile” button, which you can see on the far right side of the bottom of your screen. Tap the menu icon.

  3. Step 3

    Privacy option 2

    Under “Account”, tap “Privacy”.

  4. Step 4

    Following list option

    Scroll down and under the Safety section, find the “Following List” option.

  5. Step 5

    Who can see your following list

    TikTok will ask you who can see your following list. Set it to “Only Me.”

Now, you’ve set your following list to private. Your follower’s list is still available for other users to see. As of the moment, there’s no way to hide your follower’s list, besides making your TikTok profile private.

Man Viewing Phone in a Dimly-Lit Room

Can People See Who You Follow on TikTok?

Upon creating an account, other users can see who you follow on TikTok, regardless if you’re friends with them or not. But by doing any of the two methods above (either making your account private or setting your Following List to Only Me), people cannot see anymore who you are following.

Hiding your following list from other users is certainly doable on TikTok. One, you can set your own profile to private, which disallows people to see your following list and prevents anyone from just following you, sending you a DM, or putting a comment on your video. Two, you can set your Following List to Only Me so other people can’t see who you’re following.