youtube on mobile phone

How to Block a YouTube Channel

  • calendar Last Updated
Author
Luci
Luci
Category
#YouTube

Youtube is a fantastic platform for individuals to share their videos and watch other videos for information, laughter, and entertainment. Unfortunately, sometimes it’s hard to find just the videos you enjoy watching because they get crowded out by a bunch of random ones. Thankfully, you can block channels from continually clogging up your feed and better enjoy seeing the ones you are interested in being more available.

If your channel becomes more and more successful and you begin getting trolls or users that are not being respectful in the commenting, it is possible to block them from being able to comment on your videos.

man and cat on desktop thinking

How to Block a YouTube Channel on Desktop

There are two different ways you can block YouTube channels. One is by setting up not to recommend videos to you and another is by preventing a specific channel from commenting on your videos:

How to block a channel from showing up in your recommendations:

  1. Step 1

    Go to youtube.com and log in.

  2. Step 2

    From your YouTube homepage and scroll through the recommended videos until you find one you would like to block. 

  3. Step 3

    Click on the three dots on the bottom right of the video.

  4. Step 4

    Click on “don’t recommend channel.”

How to block a user from being able to comment on your videos

Sometimes you don’t necessarily want to block channels, you just want to ensure that they don’t comment on your particular YouTube channel. Blocking YouTube channels from commenting on your videos can be done in a few simple steps. Simply complete the following steps:

  1. Step 1

    Login to your YouTube account.

  2. Step 2

    Search for the specific YouTube Channels you would like to block.

  3. Step 3

    Click on their user account.

  4. Step 4

    Underneath their username, click “about.”

  5. Step 5

    On the right hand of the screen, there will be a flag. Click on the flag and select block user. (When you hover over the flag, it says “report user.” Don’t worry, if all you’re wanting to do is block the user and not report them, it will bring up a list of options when you actually click on the flag.)

  6. Step 6

    After clicking on “block user” it will give you a prompt reminding you that the blocked user cannot comment on your videos. Click “submit.”

youtube on a mobile phone someone scrolling

How to Block a YouTube Channel on Mobile

Here is how you can block YouTube channels on your mobile device:

To block a channel from showing up in your recommendations:

  1. Step 1

    Tap on your YouTube app and log in if not already.

  2. Step 2

    Scroll through your recommended videos and when you find a channel you want to block, tap the three dots underneath it. 

  3. Step 3

    Click “don’t recommend channel.”

To block a user from being able to comment on your videos:

  1. Step 1

    Enter your YouTube app and log in if not already.

  2. Step 2

    Search for the user you would like to block.

  3. Step 3

    Tap on their user icon.

  4. Step 4

    Tap the three dots in the top right of the screen.

  5. Step 5

    Tap “block user.”

  6. Step 6

    Confirm by tapping block.

youtube on desktop computer

How to Unblock a YouTube Channel

Thankfully, whenever you want, you can unblock any YouTube channel or users. All you need to do is complete the following steps:

How to unblock a youtube channel:

You may find that your interests are changing and regret blocking as many channels as you have. Or maybe, someone else in your family is beginning to use your account. Thankfully, it is possible to undo your “not interested” feedback and make those channels available to pop up on your feed again. 

  1. Step 1

    Sign in to your google account. 

  2. Step 2

    Click on “data and personalization” on the left.

  3. Step 3

    Scroll down until you see “my activity” and select it.

  4. Step 4

    Click “other google activity” on the left.

  5. Step 5

    Scroll down until you find “YouTube ‘not interested’ feedback” and click “delete.”

  6. Step 6

    Confirm by clicking delete. Unfortunately, this removes all of the “not interested” videos from being not interested instead of being able to pick and choose which ones. 

How to unblock a user

If you ever decide you want to unblock a user and allow them to comment on your videos again, follow these steps:

  1. Step 1

    Go to youtube.com and log in.

  2. Step 2

    Search for the YouTube channel of the user you want to unblock.

  3. Step 3

    Click on their profile icon.

  4. Step 4

    Click “About.”

  5. Step 5

    Click on the flag on the right-hand side of the screen.

  6. Step 6

    Click “unblock user.”

  7. Step 7

    Submit unblocking the user to allow them to comment on your videos once again.

woman on mobile phone in bed

Reasons to Block a YouTube Channel

There are several reasons you may want to block channels on YouTube. Whether you don’t want their videos showing up in your search results or YouTube feed.

Here are some of the reasons you may want to block YouTube channels:

  • cog

    Recommendation Settings

    Blocking channels will help your recommendation settings be more focused on promoting the videos you actually enjoy watching. After you block a channel, YouTube will block videos created by them from showing up in your feed.

  • close

    Censorship

    It can help prevent your children from watching videos you don’t want them watching. If they can’t search for their favorite creator, they may look for new content to watch. There are other options for parental controls that are better options, however.

  • desktop

    Content

    You may find the content personally offensive or inappropriate. Blocked videos will no longer show up in your feed so you can avoid them altogether.

Block specific YouTube channels can really help shape your YouTube page. It’s easy to do and undo whenever you feel like switching things up. Blocking disrespectful users from commenting on your videos is also pretty simple. Keep your YouTube experience fun and block out the unnecessary.