wooden fence with sun shining through it

How to Block Someone on Instagram in 2021

  • calendar Last Updated
Author
Breanne
breanne
Category
#Instagram

If you no longer want someone to see your content on Instagram, you can block them. You can block individual accounts on Instagram. This means that they no longer have access to you, they cannot engage with you from that account. They no longer have access to your profile, posts, or story. The downside is that they can create different accounts and still be able to follow you. After someone is blocked, any comments or likes on your profile will disappear.

If you just want to stop someone from engaging with you, you may also block them from commenting on your photos or videos. 

You may also set your Instagram to private. People have to request to follow you and you have to approve them. This can keep a lot of unwanted spam out of your followers, however, this can stunt your growth as an influencer. Your privacy setting also doesn’t cross multiple platforms. For instance, if you post your private Insta post on Facebook, but you don’t have Facebook set to private also, people can still see that post. 

Blocking is not the same as unfollowing. If you choose to unfollow an account, you will no longer see their content but they can still look up yours. If you have a public Instagram and they search for your profile or if they follow you, they can still engage with you.  If you are private, they can only see your content if they follow you. Just because you unfollow an account on Instagram, does not mean they don’t still follow you. 

coffee glasses laptop notebook table

How to Block Someone on Insta (Mobile)

If you want to block someone from your mobile device, you will need to complete the following:

  1. Step 1

    Tap their username to go to their profile.

  2. Step 2

    Click on the three vertical dots in the top right (Android) or three horizontal dots in the top right (iPhone).

  3. Step 3

    Block is the second option shown, choose this.

  4. Step 4

    You will need to confirm that you want to block this user by clicking block again.

  5. Step 5

    A message letting you know that you were successful will show up and their profile will now show that they are blocked. 

man on laptop editor for youtube

How to Block Someone on Instagram (Desktop)

If you would like to block someone on Instagram when on Desktop, complete the following:

  1. Step 1

    Tap their username to go to their profile.

  2. Step 2

    Click on the three horizontal dots on the upper right.

  3. Step 3

    Choose the first option to Block this user.

  4. Step 4

    You will need to confirm that you want to block this user.

  5. Step 5

    A message letting you know that you were successful will show up and their profile will now show that they are blocked.

Can I Choose to Unblock Someone on Insta?

If you choose to unblock them, all you have to do is go to their profile and choose to unblock. When you unblock someone they now have access as before to your content and can like and comment again.

magi jar with start and lights in jar sunset

What Happens When You Block Someone on Instagram?

When you block someone on Insta, the following will take place:

  • heart-outline

    Engagement

    All their likes and comments will be removed from any of your posts 

  • heart-outline

    Activity

    People can still see your activity if you engage with other accounts that they also follow 

  • heart-outline

    SEarch

    Someone who you have blocked will not be able to search for your profile or tag you in anything on Instagram 

  • heart-outline

    Messages

    If you have messaged with them before in direct messages, the conversation will still be there but you will not be able to message them anymore

Can People See That You Have Blocked Them on Instagram?

When you block someone on Instagram, they are not notified. However, if they are used to finding your account and seeing your content, they may notice that they no longer can. At that point, they will likely assume that they have been blocked on Instagram

soft butterfly on flowers

Reasons to Block Someone on Instagram

There are many reasons you may choose to block an account on instagram. It can make managing your content easier. I have seen many times, where blocking can be very beneficial and allow for more peaceful interaction with your followers. For instance, when someone repeatedly negatively comments on your content, your loyal followers might start firing back at that person. So instead of your content bringing joy or inspiration to others, the comments outshine your carefully thought through post.

Additionally, you can block others whose content does not line up with yours. There are many fake or spam accounts on Instagram, by blocking them, you will not have to moderate as many comments or messages which leaves you more time to interact with your actual followers. Whatever your reason is to block someone, you can always add them back later on if you decide.