Instagram logo

How to Delete Your Instagram Account

  • calendar Last Updated
Author
Carissa
carissa
Category
#Instagram

Instagram is a great tool for connecting with others on social media. However, sometimes it can get a bit overwhelming whether it be taking up too much time from your personal life or causing too much anxiety with the negative content that can continually flood your newsfeed. Thankfully, if it's ever too much, we have the option to delete our account and refocus on the areas of our life that may need a little bit more of our attention.

You can navigate Instagram’s help center to find the correct URL to delete your Instagram account. However, I’ve already gone ahead and cut that work out for you and provided the URL in step 2. Make sure that the account that you want to delete is the one you are currently logged in to in a separate browser.

This step-by-step guide will cover how to delete your Instagram account on both desktop and mobile as well as cover potential reasons on why you may choose to do so.

person on instagram mobile phone

How to Delete Your Instagram Account on Mobile

To delete your Instagram account using your mobile device, follow these steps:

Note: You cannot permanently delete your account through the Instagram app. You will need to use a mobile browser.

  1. Step 1

    Log into your Instagram account using a mobile browser such as Google Chrome, using the same username and account password you normally use to access your account page.

  2. Step 2

    On another page within the browser, go to the delete your account webpage.

  3. Step 3

    Choose a reason why you want to delete your account from the drop-down menu.

  4. Step 4

    Re-enter your password.

  5. Step 5

    Tap the delete button.

  6. Step 6

    Confirm your account deletion by tapping “OK.”

computer desktop laptop

How to Delete Your Instagram Account (Desktop)

To permanently delete your Instagram account using your desktop, follow these steps:

  1. Step 1

    Log into your Instagram account using your desktop browser.

  2. Step 2

    On a different tab, go to the delete your account webpage.

  3. Step 3

    On the account deletion page, choose a reason why you want to delete your account from the drop-down menu.

  4. Step 4

    Re-enter your password.

  5. Step 5

    Click the button that says “Delete <username>” to deactivate your Instagram account.

  6. Step 6

    Confirm by clicking “OK” on the pop-up box. At this point, the app will begin the process of deleting your Instagram account.

laptop slightly open

Reasons to Delete an Instagram Account

It is often wise to initially just disable your Instagram account for a while instead of deleting it just to make sure you don’t regret losing all of your content if you ever change your mind in the future. However, sometimes it is necessary to go ahead and permanently delete your account.

Here are some of the reasons others have deleted their accounts:

  • social-instagram

    consuming

    Many social networks can seemingly take over your life. You may have realized that you are obsessed with viewing others’ profiles and updating your own profile page. While for many, this is simply a waste of time, others may become obsessed with receiving approval from their followers and fellow Instagrammers.

  • calendar

    Time waster

    As one of the most popular social networks, the Instagram App appeals to many people. Not only can you follow your friends and family, but you can be inspired by celebrities or game-changers in your field of study. Unfortunately, the ease of using the app has led some to find they are spending too much time on Instagram and it is taking away from their personal life.

  • child

    Anxiety

    Sometimes posts can be too overwhelming. Instagram like all social media platforms can occasionally be flooded with politics, religion, and/or multi-level marketing. If going on the Instagram website has increased your overall anxiety. If you tend to frequently feel anxiety but don’t want to delete your Instagram account permanently, you may choose to temporarily disable it instead. Disabling your Instagram account temporarily will allow you to recover your data in the future if you log back into it.

  • phone

    Lack of use

    Some people realize they’ve either never gotten into Instagram or they’ve lost interest and are no longer on it very much anymore if at all. In this case, deleting your Instagram account won’t affect your life in any way.

Instagram gives you a window of about a month to reverse your decision to delete your account. Your account won’t be visible to anyone during that time of the decision, but your account and its contents can be restored by logging in before the permanent deletion date that Instagram will provide you when you first decide to delete your account.

Alternatives to Deleing Your Instagram Account

If you would rather enact the temporarily disable account settings, you can turn off your Instagram as though you have deleted it without having to lose all your photos, username, followers, and comments. Once you disable your account, all you have to do to reinstate it in the future is simply log into your account again.

Choosing to temporarily disable your account is a good option for people who aren’t sure that they want to delete their Instagram account permanently. It gives them the chance to step away from their social media accounts without having their data permanently deleted.

Instagram Pictures Profile

Frequently Asked Questions

Can You Reinstate a Deleted Instagram Account?

You can reinstate your Instagram account within 30 days of your initially deleting it. Otherwise, the deletion process will have been finalized and all of your photos, personal information, posts, and messages with other users will be permanently removed. At that point, there will be no way to go to your profile and you will need to set up a new account with a new username.

After Deleting Your Account, Can Others Access Your Info?

Regardless of whether you temporarily disable it or delete your Instagram account permanently, other users won’t be able to access your Instagram data, view your profile picture, see your posts or comments, or message you o the app. The only way to reverse is if you disabled it. A deleted account will disappear from a web browser immediately, hiding all info from public view.

Can I Download Your Instagram Data Before I Delete My Instagram Account?

Before deleting Instagram, you may want to download all your Instagram notes, images, and data so that you can save the memories without sharing them with a billion users on the app. Instagram allows you to download everything. To download your data, you will need to click or tap your avatar to get to your Instagram settings. Then, click or tap “Security” so that you can see your data options. There, you can click “Request download.” Instagram will generally email you a link. It can take up to 2 days to hear from them.

Life can get pretty busy and we don’t always have the time to do what we once did for relaxation. Instagram has some great features that can be pretty addicting. Sometimes the best way to deal with those distractions is to remove them permanently. If you think deletion is best for you, go for it. It may help you get to the different things in your life you’ve been avoiding or putting off. If you change your mind about deletion, you have up to a month to reverse your decision.

Again, if you aren’t completely sure about your decision, try to temporarily disable your account for a while. That way, you have the chance to access your username and data if you ever decide to re-enter the Insta world again in the future. Deleting your account is permanent and you won’t be able to log back through a web browser or the app.