locks on a bridge over a river with buildings

How to Share Private YouTube Videos

  • calendar Last Updated
Author
Bel
bel
Category
#YouTube

Private videos are the most secure type of videos on YouTube. They can be shared with a limit of 50 people by invitation and will not be shown on your profile, video recommendations, or search results. Whether you have created a private YouTube video of your pet to show off to your family members or you are creating tutorials for your business, you can share these videos directly from your YouTube studio.

This post will cover you can share any private YouTube video from your collection of unlisted videos on your YouTube account.

jellyfish swimming in water

What is a Private YouTube Video?

Youtube offers three different safety settings for the videos you post: public, private, and unlisted. Public videos give you the possibility to spread your content and grow your channel since they are available for anyone in and out of Youtube to watch. Unlisted YouTube videos, on the other hand, are not visible by searching on Youtube, but they can still be seen by anyone with a link. 

If what you need is complete privacy when sharing your video and you don’t want it to be available to anyone, consider making it a private video:

  • profile-male

    Authorization

    Private videos can only be seen by authorized people. Authorization must be given via email and only people with YouTube accounts can watch it. Creating a private YouTube video will still allow you to share your content with the people you love without random strangers also being able to view it.

  • lock

    Security

    Private videos can be shared with up to 50 people. Additionally, if someone shares the link you sent them with a third person, the link won’t work. This means that you can ensure that when you share a private YouTube video, it will only be seen by the people you want. The video will also not be able to be seen even if someone were to copy and paste the video URL.

  • focus

    Invisibility

    Private videos won’t appear to the public in your profile, nor will they be shown as search results or recommendations on the platform. They will only be visible to your friends and family members that you have shared them with (through an email invitation or otherwise).

  • chat

    Comment-Free

    Private videos don’t allow comments, even from the people who can view them on the YouTube site. If you need feedback on your private video, you will need to ask for it in a different way.

man on laptop editor for youtube

Making a Private YouTube Video

To create a private YouTube video in the creator studio, you will need to do the following:

  1. Step 1

    Go to youtube.com and access “YouTube Studio” on your profile bar. Make sure you’re logged in to your YouTube channel.

  2. Step 2

    Click “Upload videos,” as you normally would when posting a video on YouTube.

  3. Step 3

    Upload the file of the video you want to make private.

  4. Step 4

    Once the video is uploaded, input the details of your video, such as title, description, and thumbnail. When you’re done, click “Visibility” in the upper right corner of the window.

  5. Step 5

    In the visibility tab, check “Private” and save to publish your private video.

magi jar with start and lights in jar sunset

Sharing a Private YouTube Video

To share a private YouTube video, you will need to complete the following:

  1. Step 1

    Go to your Youtube Studio dashboard. Click “Videos” on the sidebar to see all of your videos.

  2. Step 2

    Hover on the video you wish to make private and click the pencil icon.

  3. Step 3

    On your Video details, click the three dots on the upper right corner and choose “Share privately.”

  4. Step 4

    You will be redirected to a page, type in the email of the people you want to share the private video with. Click “Save and go back” when you’re done. You can choose to notify access via email.

  5. Step 5

    When notifying via email, they can access the video by clicking the notification.

  6. Step 6

    If someone tries to access your video link, they will be prompted to log in with an authorized account.

    HOw Many Email Addresses Can You Share a Private YouTube Video With?

    There is no limit on how many email addresses you can share a YouTube video with. Not only can you send a video to every friend or family member you know, but you can also send notifications with it to explain it. They will need to log in to view the video.

man on roof with laptop city skyscrape

How to Remove Access to a Private Video

To remove access to a private video, complete the following:

  1. Step 1

    Go to your YouTube Studio dashboard. Click “Videos” on the sidebar to see all of your videos. Hover on the video you wish to revoke someone’s access for.

  2. Step 2

    On your Video details, click the three dots on the upper right corner and choose “Share privately”.

  3. Step 3

    On this page, click the “x” after the email of who you want to remove access to the video.

  4. Step 4

    Now, when accessing your video, they won’t be able to see it, unless you invite them again.

dog named moose in car pug

Reasons to Keep a YouTube Video Private

While YouTube is designed as a public sharing platform for videos, there are some good reasons to keep some of your videos private:

  • profile-female

    Saving Personal Videos

    Instead of relying on your computer or phone memory, you can use YouTube to create your personal video library. You can also choose to upload a video file as an unlisted video to your account that you can still view privately on your own.

  • chat

    Sharing Memories

    Private videos are a clever way to share personal content with families and friends. Having the video hosted on YouTube makes sure you won’t lose it. Your loved ones will be able to watch your videos straight from the website.

  • gears

    Sharing Exclusive Content with viewers or clients

    You can use the private mode to give exclusive or paid access to some of your content by authorizing selected accounts.

  • camera

    Sample Your Work

    If you work with video making or photography, you can share some of your work exclusively with clients.

  • document

    Sharing a Resume

    Some companies require video resumes, you can upload yours to YouTube and authorize access when sending your application.

Safety comes first when sharing content online. While setting up a private video is not the most convenient option, it is the safest when it comes to protecting your creations. Enjoy the freedom of sharing content away from unwanted viewers, and remember you can always change your mind if you want to make a private video public again!