If you are curious if a friend blocked you on Twitter, you can look for their Twitter profile or try to direct message them. Blocked accounts will give you different results than another person’s account.
This post will help you answer “Who blocked me on Twitter?” as well as cover what will happen when a Twitter account blocks other individual accounts.
How to See Who Blocked You on Twitter
To see who blocked you on Twitter, you will need to complete the following:
Log in to your Twitter account.
Go to the profile of the person that might be blocking you using the options below:
- Type their Twitter handle on the search bar at the top of the page. If their account is public, the username will show as a result.
- If you don’t remember their exact username, you can try looking for their real name on the search bar. Also, if their account is private, you can try checking recent tweets that mention the profile.
- In case you haven’t yet found the profile you are looking for, you can scroll through a mutual friend’s follower list. Click “followers” on your friend’s profile and scroll down until you find the suspect.
Open the person’s profile by clicking their picture or name.
In this case, you can’t interact or see this person’s tweets, unless they directly mention you using your Twitter Handle. Check the section below to see what happens when someone blocks you.
Is the follow button available, but you don’t remember unfollowing this particular account? It could mean that you have been removed as a follower. Influencers and other accounts can remove followers on Twitter through a few short steps.
How Many Users Blocked Me on Twitter?
Before Twitter updated its Programming Interface, many apps could run data on your profile to find out exactly how many people blocked you and who they were. Although you can no longer find a list of the people who blocked you, you can still see the numbers using a tool called Blolook.
To use it, go to their website and click “Log in with Twitter” to start. You will be redirected to Twitter to authorize the app. Once logged in, check the “Your account” tab to see how many people you are blocking and how many blocked you.
Keep in mind that only profiles that use the tool are taken into account. However, over two million Twitter users have been logged to Blolook and there is a considerable chance your followers are using it as well.
What Happens When You’re Blocked on Twitter
When someone blocks you on Twitter, the platform makes sure they won’t bump into you in any way possible when using the website. Being blocked means:
Remember that blocking someone on Twitter is a discrete activity. You won’t be notified if someone blocks you and the only way to find out is to visit their profile.
Common Reasons to Be Blocked on Twitter
Have you found out someone is blocking you? Engaging in some negative behaviors on the platform might make other users block, mute, or unfollow you. While the latter options are not as extreme as blocking, losing grasp on Twitter in any way can be detrimental to your reach on the platform.
If you mean to prevent being blocked or you’re wondering why it happened, check below for common reasons to be silenced on Twitter: