This post will answer whether or not an account holder will know if you have screenshot their content on Instagram.
Does Insta Notify When You Screenshot a Story?
Instagram does not notify the original poster when you screenshot a story, though they have in the past. They disabled a feature in June 2018 that allowed Instagram users to see who screenshot their content. Now, any user (or someone just browsing your top Instagram posts) can screenshot anything publicly shown on Instagram.
If you prefer, there are other ways you can save Instagram posts and stories instead of screenshotting them. Those ways will be listed at the bottom of this post.
Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Post?
As with stories, Instagram does not notify the original poster when you screenshot a post, though there are other options you can utilize to save posts for later viewing. As stories and posts are shown publicly to an Insta user’s followers, the platform doesn’t see them as private information, so they choose to no longer notify the account holder.
Does Insta Notify When You Screenshot a DM?
Unlike stories and posts, Instagram does notify the other user if you screenshot a DM on the platform. This is due to the posts being private. There are several instances where account holders will share images or information with other users that they don’t intend to be seen by other people. For that reason, Insta has decided to notify users if screenshots are taken.
If you need to screenshot a portion of a DM, you can message the other person and notify them of why you are taking an image of it. Ask them for their permission. If your motives are right, there shouldn’t be any issues.
Other Ways to Save Instagram Posts
While taking screenshots is allowed and isn’t against the law, some users may look down on it as they may perceive that you are “stealing” their content. If you simply want to save posts to view again in the future, there are other options you can take. This includes the following: