This article will illustrate how to use Vanish Mode on Instagram.
What Is Vanish Mode on Instagram?
Many people fell in love with the feature that makes your messages disappear after they’ve been read on Snapchat.
However, some may be unaware that Instagram has a similar mode. The “Vanish Mode” feature allows users to create and join temporary chat threads that are instantly removed when the chat ends. It’s identical to the self-erasing feature found on Snapchat.
This feature, however, is only available in a few countries. Vanish mode is also only available for one-on-one conversations, so you won’t be able to use it in group chats.
How to Use Vanish Mode on Instagram
Fortunately, Vanish mode is not a complex feature to grasp. However, to use this function, you must first connect Facebook Messenger with Instagram, which you can do by going to your settings and clicking the ‘Update Messaging’ button.
To enable Vanish Mode, follow these steps:
Open the Instagram app and tap the chat icon.
Scroll to the bottom of your chat and select an existing chat or create a new message thread.
To activate Vanish Mode, swipe up from the bottom of your screen and let go of your finger.
When you enable it, Instagram will go into dark mode, and some ‘Shush’ emojis will appear at the top of your screen to indicate that you are in Vanish Mode. Your chat buddy is also notified on the screen that they are chatting in Vanish Mode. Continue to send Instagram direct messages as usual.
How to Turn Off Instagram Vanish Mode
To end Vanish Mode feature, follow these steps:
Open a chat box where you have Vanish Mode enabled.
Swipe up from the bottom of your screen and hold it until you see Release to exit Vanish Mode.
Swipe all the way up to end Vanish Mode.
All messages you’ve seen are automatically deleted when you close your chat window.
Reasons to Use Instagram Vanish Mode
Instagram users can benefit from Vanish Mode in a variety of ways. Its top priorities are user safety and privacy, and it’s ideal if you suspect someone is spying on your chats. Users can also use this feature to have a private chat with other Instagram user who follows one another. You can use the Vanish mode to share sensitive information without fear of information being leaked.
When you exit Vanish mode, all seen or read text, pictures, memes, stickers, GIFs, and other items are permanently deleted. On the other hand, this mode allows users to block or report a conversation in which they do not feel safe.