phone with monkey covering eyes

How to See Who Blocked You On Instagram

  • calendar Last Updated
Author
Chris
Chris
Category
#Instagram

Instagram friends move on from time to time and occasionally, you may be blocked from one or more of the channels that you used to follow. When you are blocked on Instagram, the platform doesn’t send you a notification or anything to let you know. There is no “easy way” for you to look up the names of the people who have blocked you.

If you believe you have been blocked on Instagram, the only way you can know for sure is to do a little detective work and look into the other accounts. 

woman on mobile device, blue screen

How to See if a Private Instagram Account Blocked You 

If you can’t find a private Instagram account when you are sure that one exists, you are likely blocked from it. Here are a couple of ways you can confirm:

  1. Step 1

    Visit the Instagram accounts of mutual friends to see if their account has commented on any posts. 

  2. Step 2

    When you find their account name, click on it. 

  3. Step 3

    If you can’t see the account or any of the content on their page, you are blocked from it. 

You can also see if you can find the account on a second account:

  1. Step 1

    Ask a mutual friend if they can look up the account on their Instagram profile. 

  2. Step 2

    Log in with a second profile or create a new one to see if you can search for the Instagram account.

influencer on laptop and phone, smiling

How to See if a Public Instagram Account Blocked You

Determining if a public Instagram account blocked you is easier than private accounts. All you will need to do is visit the account. If you can see their page, but you can’t see their image, the number of their followers, or any content where it should be posted, you have been blocked from their account. 

Was the Instagram Account Deleted?

Just because you can’t find an account doesn’t mean that you have necessarily been blocked. The user may have deleted their account. You can determine this by logging in with another account to look for the user’s page. If you can’t find it on a new account, then the account was most likely deleted.