When you unfollow a public account, you can still like and comment on their posts and view their stories. You won’t ever have to follow public Instagram accounts to interact with them.
This post will detail how to unfollow someone on Instagram from both your mobile and your desktop. It will also explain what happens when you remove people with private accounts in this way.
How to Unfollow On the Instagram Mobile App
Unfollowing other users from your Instagram account is very simple, and you can easily complete the process from the Instagram app on your iPhone or Android.
The process has four easy steps:
Visit the Instagram profile page of the person or brand you wish to unfollow.
Click the “following” button to open a dropdown menu.
Tap “unfollow” at the bottom of the menu.
The screen will default to letting you follow again if you change your mind. When you unfollow accounts, their posts, photos, and Instagram stories will no longer appear on your Instagram feed.
How to Unfollow On Instagram (Desktop)
This is how you can unfollow Instagram users from the website on your desktop:
button with the person and checkmark icons in the top right corner.
The box will show up that asks you if you want to unfollow. Click the red word unfollow.
The screen will default back, letting you follow again if you choose.
Unfollowing Private Accounts
Unfollowing private accounts is the same process. However, when you go to unfollow them, you will get a message saying, “If you change your mind, you’ll have to request to follow again.”
What Happens If I Unfollow An Account?
If you unfollow a public account on Instagram, they will not be notified that you have done this. If you choose to follow again, they will receive a notification that you have followed them.
If you unfollow a private account, they will still not receive a notification that you have done this. However, you must request access to follow again if you choose to at a later time. They may realize you no longer follow them if they check their personal followers list.
By following an account again, public or private, depending on how closely they keep tabs on who follows them, they may be able to piece together that you have unfollowed them in the past. While this is typically not a big deal, if you have a blocked person in your life, re-following them may reopen old wounds.
It is very easy to unfollow someone on Instagram. Whether you are tired of someone’s content or are simply trying to weed out the people who show up on your news feed, all you need to do is confirm your decision.
Unfollow or Block?
Depending on the severity of why you want to unfollow someone, you may want to choose to block someone on Instagram instead. This will prevent them from being able to see anything you have on your personal Instagram profile.
How Many Accounts Can I Follow and Unfollow?
Instagram does have some rules in place. These help prevent fake/spam accounts, but it is important to remember that you might find yourself in Instagram jail. Many people follow and unfollow people they think would be part of their target audience to get their attention.
There are limits to the number of people you can mass unfollow at once, however, and those numbers are as follows:
Reasons to Unfollow an Account on Insta
There are many reasons you might choose to no longer follow an account on Instagram:
Frequently Asked Questions
Will Instagram Users Be Notified If You Unfollow Them?
Other Instagram users will not be notified if you unfollow them. This is true whether or not you were a follower of a public or private account. That said, if you refollow a single account, they will be re-notified that you followed them again.
Can You Mass Unfollow People on Instagram?
Yes, you can mass unfollow people on Instagram. That being said, there are daily and hourly limits for the number of actions you can complete. This is to ensure that influencers can interact with engaged followers and are less likely to have to deal with spam as frequently.